top of page

A Book Is Not Just A Book It Is Sanity It Is Happiness It Is A Teacher It Is Therapist And A Best Fr

Pre-pandemic, I was content with outdoor exercise that allowed me to work my body and reset my mind. When feeling adventurous, I opted for kayaking or rock-climbing. Other days, I craved low-impact movement in the A Book Is Not Just A Book It Is Sanity It Is Happiness It Is A Teacher It Is Therapist And A Best Friend Shirt it is in the first place but form of bike riding or hiking. But in the midst of the coronavirus outbreak and the national movement for equality, I needed something else. With social distancing removing me from group excursions, I needed a new way to find a sense of camaraderie and joy during my daily activity. I turned to GirlTrek, the largest national health movement for Black women, to take part in their Black History Bootcamp, a 21-day series of meditative walks celebrating a different African American woman of historical significance each weekday. Presented as a live call-in and later as a podcast, the bootcamp offered a timely escape, combining peace, wellness, and a history of Black women’s excellence.


==================================



Official A Book Is Not Just A Book It Is Sanity It Is Happiness It Is A Teacher It Is Therapist And A Best Friend Shirt


I split the A Book Is Not Just A Book It Is Sanity It Is Happiness It Is A Teacher It Is Therapist And A Best Friend Shirt it is in the first place but reflective excursions between my two favorite New York City parks: Inwood Hill and Van Cortlandt, secluded forests within northern Manhattan and the Bronx, respectively, where the woods feels worlds away from an area hard-hit by the pandemic. I started in the Bronx on Sojourner Truth Day, when GirlTrek was paying homage to the former slave, orator, abolitionist, and mother. It was fitting that I honored her in Van Cortlandt Park, a location that may have been the unmarked burial ground for enslaved African New Yorkers like Truth. As I passed over the demarcated area, I paused for a moment to respect my surroundings, while concentrating on Cicely Tyson as she recited “Ain’t I a Woman?” on the podcast.


Comments


Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page