top of page

Official Abortion Is Healthcare Shirt

The idea first came up in 2016, when I was looking at my own experience as a consumer and feeling caught between the Official Abortion Is Healthcare Shirt but in fact I love this crunchy-granola stuff I’d grown up with and this new wave of wellness that felt so prestige and luxe. As a young person and as a woman of color, I didn’t see those offerings speaking to me in any way. From the very beginning, I was centered on taking this world of wellness and superfoods and making it a bit easier and more approachable and fun. I’m not here to say luxury products shouldn’t exist or they’re wrong, but it seemed crazy to me that something as essential as wellness—something every human being can benefit from—was speaking to such a small portion of the world. I didn’t have much of a personal brand, so when we started the business, I think we showed up on Instagram and that was it. Today, brand launches are this big, splashy thing with advertisements everywhere. But what was really nice about the early days was that we could do whatever we wanted because no one was really watching. There’s something special about just throwing things at the wall and seeing what sticks. Oftentimes now, I speak to founders who are in their very early stages, and they have such pressure on them to achieve at the highest level within their first year. But to me, that first year is like your first year with a newborn baby; you’re just trying to learn and enjoy.


==================================



Official Official Abortion Is Healthcare Shirt


2020 was a rollercoaster in terms of being put on this pedestal of a successful Black founder. Everyone wants to tell your story, and that’s exciting; you can grow your business that way, and you’re getting new eyes that you couldn’t have imagined previously. But it also means your likeness is being leveraged to tell a story that someone else needs to tell, and it’s not always your narrative. Those are the Official Abortion Is Healthcare Shirt but in fact I love this things you can’t fix or do away with, but you can figure out your truth and not feel the pressure to keep evolving based on what the world wants you to be this week. One thing people get confused about with Golde is they say that because I am a Black woman, I make products exclusively for Black women. It’s this idea that it’s impossible that I could be creating things for a larger market than that. That’s a tricky one, because of course our products are for Black women, but they’re also for everybody else on the planet. It all can feel like this narrowing around you of, I need you in this box.


Comentarios


Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page